Master of Arts in Education (MAE)

Education Home  |  Apply Online  |  Non-Degree Seeking Application

Mock interviews with students

  • Master of Arts in Education, General Track
  • Master of Arts in Education with Intervention Specialist Mild to Moderate Licensure
  • Master of Arts in Education with Sport Coaching Concentration
  • Master of Arts in Education with Ohio K-12 Reading Endorsement*
    *Reading Endorsement is also available as a stand-alone program. 

The Master of Arts in Education (MAE), grounded in the college’s mission, is dedicated to enhancing and improving the skills, knowledge, attitudes, and competencies of current and future professionals in the fields of education and sport coaching. We are committed to preparing competent leaders, reflective facilitators of learning, and lifelong professionals in theory and research. Applicants seeking the MAE must have an initial teaching license. 

Admission and Requirements 
Course Descriptions
Curriculum
Accreditation Information


Faculty

Carla Higgins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Director of Education
Phone: 419-783-2571
Email: chiggins@defiance.edu

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., BCBA-D
Associate Professor of Special Education

Director of the Hench Autism Studies Program
Phone: 419-783-2355
Email: cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D.
Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2315
Email: jburkhardt@defiance.edu

Fred Coulter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2416
Email: fcoulter@defiance.edu

Rachel Eicher, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Practice of Early Childhood Education

Phone: 419-783-2373
Email: reicher@defiance.edu


Support Staff

Teresa Watkins
Administrative Assistant for Education
Phone: 419-783-2323
Email: twatkins@defiance.edu