Project 701 Project Descriptions

 

Dance Marathon

Project Managers: Caroline Hesterman chesterman001@defiance.edu,

                                  Kristina Nelson knelson001@defiance.edu

                                  Michael Vanderkolk mvanderkolk001@defiance.edu

Dance Marathon is a fundraising campaign for Children's Miracle Network where students plan an end-of-campaign festivity to celebrate all the funds raised through the campaign and to support children with terminal illnesses. At the end of the year event, students celebrate by standing on their feet for 8 hours to represent children with terminal illnesses that cannot take a break. The celebration includes food, games, dancing, inflatables, miracle families and stories, and much more.


Defiance Cares Free Clinic

Project Managers:        Lindsay Kasmer lkasmer001@defiance.edu

                                         Drew Miller dmiller004@defiance.edu

                                         Brittany Pease bpease001@defiance.edu

Social Work Director:   Haley Cohee hcohee001@defiance.edu

Project email:  dcfreeclinic@defiance.edu

The Defiance Cares Free Clinic is a collaboration among Mercy Defiance Hospital, ProMedica Defiance Regional Hospital, Mercy Defiance Clinic, and Defiance College.  The clinic offers free primary health care to residents of Defiance County who either do not have medical insurance or have an annual deductible greater then $5000.  Students run the behind-the-scenes logistics of the clinic while also having opportunities to gain professional experience by shadowing the nurses, physicians, and social workers who volunteer their time.

Backpack Buddy Program

Project Managers: Genelle Castro gcastro001@defiance.edu,

                         Jillian Crowell jcrowell001@defiance.edu,

                                  Beth Pienoski epienoski001@defiance.edu

The Backpack Buddy Program is a food program for children on the free/reduced food program of Defiance County to receive supplemental food on the weekends during the school year. Different groups, organizations, and community members stuff all of the backpacks each week and then the backpacks are delivered to each of the six public elementary schools within the Defiance County.


DC Art Box Fair Trade

Project Managers: Katie Haydett khaydett001@defiance.edu

                                  Joe Hilton jhilton002@defiance.edu

DC Art Box is a small, mobile fair trade organization that makes connections and partnerships with artists in foreign countries to sell the foreign goods at a fair price. Currently, DC Artbox has made connections with artisans in countries in which the McMaster School Fellows & Scholars program has traveled.


DCPC Solutions

President: Jeremy Martin jmartin004@defiance.edu

Vice President:  Tory Savage  tsavage001@defiance.edu

DCPC Solutions is a small computer services business where digital forensic students offer computer services to the community grounded on free will donation. DCPC provides computer repair/malware removal, upgrades, education, and networking services.


DC Recycling

Project Managers: Emily Denhard edenhard001@defiance.edu

                                  Amber Moomey amoomey001@defiance.edu,

                                  Susie Stoepfel sstoepfel001@defiance.edu

DC Recycling controls most of the recycling on campus to help make the campus a greener environment. The project is housed within the resident halls where the DCR team picks up recycling from the residents; then all recycling is sorted through and taken to the local recycling center in Defiance. 

 

Creating Defiance

Project Managers: Lornette Lynch llynch001@defiance.edu

Creating Defiance is small graphic design studio where graphic design students offer graphic design services to small businesses and non-profit organizations. Graphic design students in this project have the opportunity to create logos, marketing materials and much more for local and national organizations and companies.

 

Hench Herb Project

Project Managers: Emily Lambert elambert001@defiance.edu

                                  Catlyn Pavel cpavel001@defiance.edu

The Hench Autism Herb Project is collaboration between the Hench Autism Unit students and the DC students where the project team grows, dries, and sells herbs. A variation of herbs is grown for cooking uses while the group learns about the entire process.


READ@DC

Project Managers: Jade Spangler jspangler002@defiance.edu

                                  Brittany Van Auken bvanauken001@defiance.edu

READ@DC is a Reading Engagement and Development Center for children ages K-12. READ@DC provides assessment/diagnosis services; remediation in reading and writing; and tutoring in reading and writing by DC trained pre-service teachers. This program is designed to improve literacy for individuals within the Defiance County.

 

 

 

©