Academic Calendar - Office of the Registrar - Defiance College



Academic Calendar

 

PDF of 2016-2017 Academic Calendar

PDF of 2015-2016 Academic Calendar

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2016

  

Offices Reopen for Spring Semester

Monday, January 4

All Classes Begin (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Monday, January 11

Late Registration Ends at 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 15

Last Day to Drop/Add Courses

Thursday, January 15

Martin Luther King Holiday (No Classes – Offices Closed)

Monday, January 18

2nd 5-week classes begin

Week of February 15

Midterm Grades Due by 12 NOON

Tuesday, March 1

2nd 8-week classes begin

Week of March 7

Spring Break (No Classes)

Monday, March 7 through Friday, March 11

Classes Resume

Monday, March 14

Last Day to Withdraw from Class with Automatic "W" grade

Friday, March 18

3rd 5-week classes begin

Monday, March 28

Good Friday Holiday (Office Closed - No Classes)                             

Friday, March 25

Honors Convocation

Sunday, April 17

Last Day of Classes (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Tuesday, April 26

Exam Prep Day (No Classes)                                                       

Wednesday, April 27

Final Examinations

Thursday, April 28 through Wednesday, May 4

(Graduating Students) Grades Due at 12 NOON

Thursday, May 5

Commencement   

Saturday, May 7

Final Grades Due at 12 NOON for all non-graduates

Wednesday, May 11

 

 

SUMMER SCHEDULE 2016

  

Summer Session S / All Summer Course Dates

May 16- August 5

Summer Session A Course Dates

May 16- June 24

Memorial Day Holiday (Offices Closed-No Classes)

Monday, May 30

Summer Session B Course Dates

June 27- August 5

Summer Session A grades due at 12 Noon

Wednesday, June 29

Summer Session B and Bi-Weekly grades due at Noon

Wednesday, August 10

 

 

FALL SEMESTER 2016

  

New Faculty Orientation

Tuesday, August 16

Faculty Workshop

Wednesday August 17 through Friday, August 19

All Monday Evening Classes Begin (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Monday, August 22

All Day Classes and Labs Begin (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Tuesday, August 23

Late Registration Ends at 4:30 p.m.

Friday, August 26

Last Day to Drop/Add Courses

Friday, August 26

Labor Day Holiday (Offices Closed - No Classes)

Monday, September 5

2nd 8-week classes begin

Week of October 17

Midterm Grades Due by 12 NOON

Tuesday, October 25

Last Day to Withdraw with an Automatic "W" Grade

Friday, October 28

Fall Break (No Classes)

Monday, November 21 through Friday, November 25

Thanksgiving Holiday (Offices Closed - No Classes)

Thursday, November 24 and Friday November 25

Classes Resume

Monday, November 28

Last Day of Classes (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Friday, December 2

Final Examinations

Monday, December 5 through December 9

Final Grades Due by NOON

Tuesday, December 13

Offices Closed for Holiday Break    

Monday, December 26 through Tuesday, January 2

 

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2017

  

Offices Reopen for Spring Semester

Tuesday, January 3

All Classes Begin (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Monday, January 9

Late Registration Ends at 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 13

Last Day to Drop/Add Courses

Thursday, January 13

Martin Luther King Holiday (No Classes – Offices Closed)

Monday, January 16

Midterm Grades Due by 12 NOON

Tuesday, February 28

Spring Break (No Classes)

Monday, March 6 through Friday, March 10

Classes Resume

Monday, March 13

2nd 8-week classes begin

Week of March 13

Last Day to Withdraw from Class with Automatic "W" grade

Friday, March 17

McMaster Symposium Academic Research Day (Alternative Class Day, no traditional classes will meet)

Thursday, April 6th

Good Friday Holiday (Office Closed - No Classes)                    

Friday, April 14

Last Day of Classes (Undergraduate & Graduate)

Tuesday, April 25

Exam Prep Day (No Classes)                                                       

Wednesday, April 26

Final Examinations

Thursday, April 27 through Wednesday, May 3

(Graduating Students) Grades Due at 12 NOON

Wednesday, May 3

Commencement   

Saturday, May 6

Final Grades Due at 12 NOON for all non-graduates

Wednesday, May 10

 

©