Education

The accomplishments of Defiance College education graduates rests in part on the rapport established with area schools and the caring, personal attention given to each student by the experienced faculty. With additional education, many graduates also work as principals, superintendents, and in specialty positions such as guidance counselors and curriculum coordinators.

Field experiences in schools, an important part of the program, begin as early as the first semester of the freshman year, continue through a variety of classroom settings, and culminate in a supervised student teaching experience during the senior year.

Educators who have already completed their baccalaureate degree and have a teaching license may choose to enroll in Defiance College's Master of Arts in Education program. 


Undergraduate Programs

Defiance College offers the following majors leading to teacher licensure:
Colleges of Distinction: Education Program   
Early Childhood
   Middle Childhood
   Adolescent to Young Adult
   Multi-Age
     - Health and Physical Education (P-12)

     - Intervention Specialist Mild to Moderate (K-12)

Undergraduate Endorsement Programs
   Middle Childhood Generalist Endorsement
   Early Childhood Generalist Endorsement

Graduate Programs

Master of Arts in Education programs offered in education:
- Master of Arts in Education
- Master of Arts in Education with Sport Coaching Concentrations
- Master of Arts in Education with Ohio K-12 Reading Endorsement*

*Reading Endorsement is also available as a stand-alone program. 


Faculty

Carla Higgins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Director of Education
Phone: 419-783-2571
Email: chiggins@defiance.edu

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., BCBA-D
Assistant Professor of Special Education

Director of the Hench Autism Studies Program
Phone: 419-783-2355
Email: cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D.
Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2315
Email: jburkhardt@defiance.edu

Fred Coulter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2416
Email: fcoulter@defiance.edu

Rachel Eicher, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Practice of Early Childhood Education

Phone: 419-783-2373
Email: reicher@defiance.edu


Support Staff

Teresa Watkins
Administrative Assistant for Education
Phone: 419-783-2323
Email: twatkins@defiance.edu