Additional Navigation

Apply Online  |  Request More Information

Early Childhood Generalist Endorsement

(Grades 4 through 5)


When added to the PreK - 3 Early Childhood Licensure, this endorsement enables early childhood educators to teach all subjects in Grades PreK - 5. This program is available as either an undergraduate or a standalone post-baccalaureate program.

This endorsement requires 18 hours:

  • ED320 Principles of Middle Childhood Mathematics (3)
  • ED340 Principles and Practices of Middle Childhood (3)
  • ED342 Teaching Mathematics in the Middle School (3)
  • ED343 Teaching Science in the Middle School (3)
  • ED344 Teaching Social Studies in the Middle School (3)
  • ED345 Integrated Reading/Language Arts Methods: Middle Childhood (3)

Faculty

Carla Higgins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Director of Education
Phone: 419-783-2571
Email: chiggins@defiance.edu

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., BCBA-D
Associate Professor of Special Education

Director of the Hench Autism Studies Program
Phone: 419-783-2355
Email: cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D.
Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2315
Email: jburkhardt@defiance.edu

Fred Coulter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2416
Email: fcoulter@defiance.edu

Amanda Gilbert, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Phone: 419-783-2473
Email: agilbert@defiance.edu

Rachel Eicher, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Practice of Early Childhood Education

Phone: 419-783-2373
Email: reicher@defiance.edu


Support Staff

Teresa Watkins
Administrative Assistant for Education
Phone: 419-783-2323
Email: twatkins@defiance.edu