Additional Navigation

Apply Online  |  Request More Information

Middle Childhood Generalist Endorsement

(Grades 4 through 6)


When added to their Middle Childhood Licensure, this endorsement enables middle childhood educators to obtain the ability to teach additional content areas in grades 4 - 6. This program is available as either an undergraduate program or a standalone post-baccalaureate program.

Candidates may select on or more of the following content areas in which to obtain the Middle Childhood Generalist endorsement:

Mathematics (9 hours):

  • ED320 Principles of Middle Childhood Mathematics
  • ED342 Teaching Mathematics in the Middle School
  • MA115 Principles of Geometry

Social Studies (9 hours):

  • ED344 Teaching Social Studies in the Middle School
  • GE232 World Geography
  • HI345 The Ohio Area

Science (11 hours):

  • ED343 Teaching Science in the Middle School
  • NS200 Earth in the Cosmos
  • NS201 Development of Life on Earth

Reading/Language Arts (10 hours):

  • EN270 Advanced Composition
  • ED341 Adolescent Literature
  • ED345 Integrated Reading/Language Arts Methods: Middle School

Faculty

Carla Higgins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Director of Education
Phone: 419-783-2571
Email: chiggins@defiance.edu

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., BCBA-D
Associate Professor of Special Education

Director of the Hench Autism Studies Program
Phone: 419-783-2355
Email: cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D.
Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2315
Email: jburkhardt@defiance.edu

Fred Coulter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education

Phone: 419-783-2416
Email: fcoulter@defiance.edu

Rachel Eicher, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Practice of Early Childhood Education

Phone: 419-783-2373
Email: reicher@defiance.edu


Support Staff

Teresa Watkins
Administrative Assistant for Education
Phone: 419-783-2323
Email: twatkins@defiance.edu