Multi-Age Education

(age 3 through grade 12)

Apply Online | Request More Information | Major Brochure | Courses

Health teachers believe that teaching children to care about their bodies—what they eat, how they exercise, whether they smoke—will have a life-long impact.

P.E. teachers know that all children, regardless of age, benefit from moving their bodies in a multitude of ways.

Art teachers understand why all children need to create with their minds and hands, know that the arts are not a disposable part of education.

At Defiance College, multi-age education majors take something they love and learn creative ways to teach it to a wide age range of students, using innovation and creativity to teach age-appropriate knowledge and skills

 


 

A Rich Tradition

Defiance College has a rich teacher education heritage. For more than 100 years, the College has prepared and graduated teachers who not only teach, but become principals and superintendents as well. The success of Defiance College education graduates rests in part on the rapport established with area schools and the caring, personal attention given to each student by the experienced faculty. In addition to exceeding state minimum requirements, the program has many other strengths.

Multi-Age Majors can select a concentration in the following:


The Teacher Education Program Handbook

 


 

The Faculty

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
419-783-2315 | jburkhardt@defiance.edu | Profile

Fred Coulter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
419-783-2416 | fcoulter@defiance.edu | Profile

Joshua C. Francis, M.A., Assistant Professor of Education
419-783-2571 | jfrancis@defiance.edu | Profile

Sandra Golden, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Education/Associate Provost of Graduate Studies and Professional Development/Master of Arts in Education Program Director.
419-783-2412 | sgolden@defiance.edu | Profile

Katie Griffes, Assistant Professor of Health and Physical Education
419-783-2419 | kgriffes@defiance.edu

Jason M. Stockman, M.F.A., Assistant Professor of Art
419-783-2451 | jstockman@defiance.edu

 

 

 

©